The struggle with underweight – How I gained healthy weight

This article is a guest post I have written for http://thezeit.com (check them out, they have great articles on nutrition, fitness and health!) but I figured I should post it on my own blog too, as you may find it useful!

Underweight.

A problem many people have but that is not spoken enough about.

Nowadays, the majority of fitness or nutritional guides focus on weight loss, which diet fits you best and how to lose fat. In addition to that, there are also many videos and ebooks on building muscle mostly geared towards bodybuilder and fitness enthusiasts.

Also, on social media, you can find endless fitness or weight loss groups, forums where people support each other on their journey.

But what about the other part of population who has a different problem that has to be taken just as serious as obesity?

Having been underweight myself, I know that this is a completely different situation compared to being overweight.

When you meet someone you haven’t seen in a while, typically they comment first on your looks. In fact, it seems to me that people actually like if you have a couple of pounds to lose. Maybe they feel insecure about their own body, thus seeing you are not perfect is reassuring for them.

However, when I was underweight, I would always get comments like “Oh gosh, you used to be so pretty, now you look like a skeleton”, or “Have you lost weight intentionally?”,  “Are you sick?”. These comments hurt me deep and it is still hard to remember that time and write about it.

In this article, I would like to share my tips on how to gain healthy weight and build a healthy relationship with food and exercise.

 

READ the Rest of the Article

2 responses to “The struggle with underweight – How I gained healthy weight

Leave a comment

